Book Review

Judging By Covers

I absolutely judge books by their covers, and I don’t care who knows it. That’s exactly why I read Helen Ellis’s short story collection American Housewife: Stories, and I can say I enjoyed the book as much as the cover.

FC9780385541039If the title makes you think you’re going to hear boring stories about non-threatening, demure women who stay at home cooking and cleaning, banish that thought from your mind. Each of these stories has a weird side. There are tales of annoying neighbors, book clubs, and reality TV, but they all go to a place I never would have expected, all the while offering commentary on how women interact with one another and where they find identity. It would spoil all the fun of reading this collection if I gave you an example of the weird I’m talking about, but trust me when I say these stories are going to unexpected places.

American Housewife reads quickly and has a punchy, quirky quality to it that I really liked. The book is set to be released in January 2016, and I think it will be a perfect pick me up in the middle of a cold, gray winter. It will likely read differently for women than for men, but I’d say to the dudes that it won’t disappoint.

This book was provided to me for review by the publisher.

Leave a Reply

